Ekaterinburg
Ekaterinburg

Welcome to Ekaterinburg!

Ekaterinburg is the largest city on the land border of the Old World's two parts — Europe and Asia. Having 1.5 million of population, it is at the same time the fourth largest megalopolis of Russia; it is a modern industrial, business, science, and trade city proud of its rich history and cultural traditions.

8th of March street. Photo by A. Marushin.

Ekaterinburg was founded as a fortress and plant in the year 1723 during the period of industrial developing of Ural and Siberia. The plant was built under the direct supervision of two statesmen: Vasiliy Nikitich Tatishchev (historian and geographer) and Georg Wilhelm de Gennin (Henning), lieutenant-general, specialist in mining engineering and metallurgy. The fortress plant was named Ekaterinburg in honor of protectress of mining Saint great martyr Catherine of Alexandria and empress Catherine I.

Historical panorama of Ekaterinburg.

Since its foundation Ekaterinburg developed very fast. In the 19th century it was the only "mining city" in Russia, a state within a state. The metal produced on Uralian works was used in creating well-known architectural erections and constructions all over the world. In Soviet period, the city (bearing the name of Sverdlovsk from 1924 till 1991) grew into an industrial heart of the country: new large plants were built including famous UralMash. Besides, Sverdlovsk declared itself to be one of the leading educational, science, and industrial centers.

The history and character of Ekaterinburg have been formed under the influence of various contradictory events, ideas, emblematic persons and even whole nations. The last life days of Russian Emperor Nicholas II are related to that city. In 2003, on the place of Tsar family's tragic death, the Church on Blood in Honor of All Saints Resplendent in the Russian Land was erected. In the years of Great Patriotic war, just from Sverdlovsk, the legendary announcer Yuriy Levitan went on air with his front-line reports. Among the prominent Ekaterinburg citizens, there are writers Dmitriy Mamin-Sibiryak and Pavel Bazhov, film director Grigoriy Aleksandrov, scientist and designer Nikolay Semikhatov, painter Vitaliy Volovich, poet Boris Ryzhiy, hockey player Pavel Datsyuk and many other figures in culture, science and sport.

The first president of Russian Federation Boris Yeltsin started his public life just in Ekaterinburg.

Boris Yeltsin. Photo by Yeltsin Center (http://yeltsin.ru/).

Ekaterinburg of the early 21st century is the capital of Ural Federal district, a discussion area for influential diplomatic and political figures of all levels, a center for trade and finances, communications and information technologies, culture and tourism.

Modern Ekaterinburg, at every step, is notable for its various appearances and inimitable air of discoveries. Walking through the city would give the lovers of architecture true enjoyment since there are few cities in Russia where the masterpieces of classicism period of the early and mid-19th century, buildings in the style of Russian wooden modern, the most brilliant monuments of constructivism of 1920–1930s, Stalin's "neoclassicism", re-erected temples, and mirror-like fronts of present-day buildings co-exist in such a harmony. 

The Church on Blood. Photo by A. Marushin.

In many respects, the image of Uralian capital is formed by small architectural shapes, legal graffiti, and various genres of street-art. Well-known by its creative spirit, Ekaterinburg conducts the international festival of street art and graffiti "Stenograffia" every year since 2010 — the largest in the country thematic action having become an integral part of the city culture.

The monument to a keyboard. Photo by V. Kon'shin.

The culture space of Ekaterinburg is a combination of Eurasian historical heritage and modern infrastructure. There are more than 600 historical and cultural memorials, of which 43 are of federal value. Among the most interesting exhibits are the Shigir Idol, 9500 years of age, and unique Kasli cast-iron moulding pavilion made by Uralian craftsmen and won Grand Prix in Paris in 1900. The Opera and Ballet Theater, Philharmonic hall and other theaters of Ekaterinburg are well-known across all Russia and abroad.

The Sevastianov's house. Photo by S. Krylov.

Ekaterinburg is a global city capable to join two continents and the whole world. Ekaterinburg unites Europe with Asia, innovations with historical heritage, academical science with modern art. The 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ is the unique occasion to receive unforgettable impressions of the football festival and to make your personal acquaintance with Ekaterinburg.

Ekaterinburg at night. Photo by A. Marushin.

Екатеринбург
Екатеринбург

Добро пожаловать в Екатеринбург!

Екатеринбург – самый крупный город на сухопутной границе частей Старого Света – Европы и Азии. Насчитывая 1,5 миллиона жителей, он также является четвертым крупнейшим мегаполисом России; это современный промышленный, деловой, научный и торговый город, который гордится своей богатой историей и культурными традициями.

Улица 8 Марта. Фото: А.Марушин.

Екатеринбург был основан как завод-крепость в 1723 году, в период промышленного освоения Урала и Сибири. Строительство завода осуществлялось под непосредственным руководством двух государственных деятелей: Василия Никитича Татищева – историка, географа и Георга Вильгельма де Геннина – генерал-лейтенанта, специалиста в области горного дела и металлургического производства. Завод-крепость был назван Екатеринбургом в честь покровительницы горного дела святой великомученицы Екатерины Александрийской и императрицы Екатерины I.

Историческая панорама Екатеринбурга.

Со дня основания Екатеринбург развивался быстрыми темпами. В XIX веке это был единственный в России «горный город», государство в государстве. Металл, произведенный на уральских заводах, использовался при создании известнейших архитектурных сооружений и конструкций по всему миру. В советский период город (носивший имя Свердловск с 1924 по 1991 годы), превратился в индустриальное сердце страны: были построены новые крупные заводы, включая знаменитый Уралмаш. Кроме того, Свердловск заявил о себе как один из ведущих образовательных и научно-промышленных центров.

История и характер Екатеринбурга сложились под влиянием множества противоречивых событий, идей, знаковых личностей и целых народов. С городом связаны последние дни российского императора Николая II. В 2003 году на месте трагической гибели царской семьи воздвигнут Храм-на-Крови во имя Всех Святых в Земле Российской Просиявших. В годы Великой Отечественной войны из Свердловска выходил в эфир со сводками с фронта легендарный диктор Юрий Левитан. В числе выдающихся екатеринбуржцев писатели Дмитрий Мамин-Сибиряк и Павел Бажов, режиссер Григорий Александров, ученый-конструктор Николай Семихатов, художник Виталий Волович, поэт Борис Рыжий, хоккеист Павел Дацюк и многие другие известные деятели культуры, науки, спорта.

В Екатеринбурге начинал свою политическую карьеру первый Президент России Борис Ельцин.

Борис Ельцин. Фото: Ельцин Центр (http://yeltsin.ru/).

Екатеринбург начала XXI века – столица Уральского федерального округа, дискуссионная площадка для влиятельных дипломатических и политических деятелей всех уровней, центр торговли и финансов, коммуникаций и информационных технологий, культуры и туризма.

Современный Екатеринбург отличается разнообразным обликом и неповторимой атмосферой открытий на каждом шагу. Прогулка по городу доставит истинное наслаждение любителям архитектуры, ибо немного найдется городов в России, где шедевры периода классицизма начала и середины XIX века, дома в стиле русского деревянного модерна, ярчайшие памятники конструктивизма 1920–30-х годов, сталинский «неоклассицизм», восстановленные храмы и зеркальные фасады современных зданий сосуществуют  в такой гармонии. 

Храм-на-Крови. Фото: А.Марушин.

Во многом образ уральской столицы определяют малые архитектурные формы, легальное граффити и различные жанры стритарта. Известный своим духом творчества, с 2010 года Екатеринбург ежегодно проводит международный фестиваль уличного искусства и граффити «Стенограффия» – крупнейшее в стране тематическое мероприятие, ставшее неотъемлемой частью культуры города.

Памятник клавиатуре. Фото: В.Коньшин.

Культурное пространство Екатеринбурга – это сочетание евразийского исторического наследия и современной инфраструктуры. В городе свыше 600 памятников истории и культуры, из них 43 – объекты федерального значения. В числе наиболее интересных музейных экспонатов – Большой Шигирский идол, возраст которого 9 500 лет, и уникальный Каслинский чугунный павильон, созданный уральскими мастерами и завоевавший Гран-При на Всемирной выставке в Париже в 1900 году. Театр оперы и балета, филармония и другие театры Екатеринбурга хорошо известны по всей России и за рубежом.

Дом Севастьянова. Фото: С.Крылов.

Екатеринбург – глобальный город, способный объединить два континента и весь мир. Екатеринбург объединяет Европу и Азию, инновации и историческое наследие, академическую науку и современное искусство. Чемпионат мира по футболу FIFA 2018™ – уникальный повод получить незабываемые впечатления от праздника футбола и лично познакомиться с Екатеринбургом.

Ночной Екатеринбург. Фото: А.Марушин.