About World Cup
About World Cup

Key facts about the World Cup

What is the FIFA™ World Cup?

FIFA™ World Cup is the most large-scale sporting event and prestigious football world championship in the world, each time collecting several million fans. The Championships involve male national teams of the Member States of the International Football Federation (FIFA). The final matches are held every 4 years.

Who conducts the Championship?

Championship organizes the International Football Federation (FIFA) - the governing body of the world football. It was founded in 1904 in Paris. FIFA integrates of 6 regional associations, headquartered in Zurich.

History of the Championship

Official finals of the World Cup were held since 1930. At the current moment 20 tournaments have been organized in total. 21th FIFA™ World Cup will be held in Russia in 2018, and 22th will take place in Qatar in 2022.

In the history of the tournament only 8 countries were the winners: Brazil - 5 times; Italy and Germany - 4 times; Argentina and Uruguay - 2 times; Britain, France and Spain - 1 time. The current world football champion is the German team.

Since 1974, the main prize of the tournament is a unique trophy - the winners’ Cup of the World Cup FIFA™. The Cup is a composition of two human figures supporting the globe; the bottom of a trophy shows engraved names of all the countries whose teams won the championship. The trophy is made of 18 carat gold and weighs more than 6 kg.

Since 1966, each of the Championship has its mascot. The first mascot in the history of the World Cup was Willie the lion.

Russia and Championship

Russia is a full member of FIFA since 1992. In 2018 for the first time in its history, Russia will be the host country of the FIFA™ World Cup.

The teams form more than two hundred countries will play in the qualifying tournament of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™. The Russian team as a host is exempted from qualifying games.

The final part of the Championship will be held in Russia from June 14 to July 15, 2018. 32 national teams will be among the participants. 64 games will be played in total: 48 matches on the group stage and 16 - on the playoffs stage. The opening match and the final one will take place at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.

The host city of the FIFA World Cup Russia™.

There will be 11 sports capitals of the FIFA World Cup Russia™:

    • Volgograd
    • Ekaterinburg
    • Kazan
    • Kaliningrad
    • Moscow
    • Nizhny Novgorod
    • Rostov-on-Don
    • Samara
    • St. Petersburg
    • Saransk
    • Sochi