Central Park
Central Park

In 2018, the Mayakovskiy Central Park of Culture and Leisure — remarkable green nook in the center of Ekaterinburg — will serve as an area for the FIFA Fan Fest™ in Ekaterinburg.

Central entrance of the Mayakovskiy Central Park of Culture and Leisure. Photo by A. Marushin.

The Mayakovskiy Central Park is the most visited and spacious one among other city parks in Ekaterinburg. It occupies an area of about 100 hectares, and since 1980s, is a traditional site to hold city holidays and mass festive gatherings. A great number of services to organize leisure, amusements and active rest are provided on the park's territory. More than 50 side-shows are placed here.

Celebration of Shrovetide in the Mayakovskiy Central Park. Photo by E. Lyalin.

As long ago as 19th century there were merchants' summer cottages on the place of the present-day park. Nearby was located Meshchanskaya Roshcha (grove), usual area for holding various people merry-making. In the summer of 1934, the Sverdlovsk Park of Culture and Leisure opened on that territory. And in the same year, in connection with the 40th birthday of poet Vladimir Mayakovskiy, it got his name. Originally, the Mayakovskiy Central Park was simply a forest-park: one would walk there, take a rest in open air, and in winter would ski. Among the sights there were only a small pond, veranda for dancing with summer stage, and three side-shows. In 1936, cinema and summer circus opened in the park.

  

Central path in the Mayakovskiy Central Park. Photo by V. Kon'shin.

After 1950 the Mayakovskiy Central Park changed greatly: its central path was shifted to the left, an arch for the central entrance and an administration building were built. A sculpture of Vladimir Mayakovskiy was erected in the park; the cinema, closed in the war-time, had been renewed; a children's railroad was launched. Later, near the park's central entrance, a planetarium opened (at present, it is not working). The Mayakovskiy Central Park of Culture and Leisure has become one of the leading parks in Russia.

Traditional Sabantuy (sowing celebration) in the Mayakovskiy Central Park. Photo by T. Nasibullin.

In the beginning of the 21th century the park acquired some new sights and became a place for holding international cultural events. In summer of 2006, in the open air, an international festival of garden and park sculpture was held here for the first time. The works of its thirteen winners beautified the park's central path. In the same year, the first color-and-music fountain "Constellation" opened, for which there are no analogs in the Ural region. A petting zoo was created for nature-lovers. In winter, an ice-hill and a skating rink are available. Ski paths are made in the park's forest part.

The Europe Days in Ekaterinburg. Photo by A. Khranovskaya.

In 2013 the park was one of the main fields for the popular Europe Days international festival. Besides, it is the place for holding guest performances of entertainment stars and traditional city holidays. Every year, over 2.5 million Ekaterinburg citizens and guests of the Ural capital visit the Mayakovskiy Central Park.

Unveiling of the Football monument in the Mayakovskiy Central Park. Photo by E. Chagaev.

In 2014, it was just the Mayakovskiy Central Park to host the International FIFA Fan Fest™ during the World Football Cup in Brazil. The visitors found there not only live translations of football matches, but as well rich entertainment show, in which 13 professional showmen, 30 pop groups, 7 dancing groups, more than 80 specialties, 15 stand-up comic actors, 6 teams of KVN club (Club of the Funny and Inventive People), more than 155 athletes, and also models, DJs, artists and other actors participated. Moreover, an avocational football tournament was held on the field of the festival, with participation of 68 teams. And 196 matches were held then.
During the month of the 2014 International FIFA Fan Fest™ in Ekaterinburg, 15 matches were presented; and 25,000 people visited the events of the Fan Zone.

  

The International FIFA Fan Fest™ in Ekaterinburg. Photo by T. Nasibullin.

Площадка
Площадка

Площадкой Фестиваля болельщиков FIFA™ в Екатеринбурге в 2018 году станет Центральный парк культуры и отдыха имени В.В. Маяковского – один из уникальных зеленых уголков в центральной части Екатеринбурга, популярное место отдыха.

Центральный вход в ЦПКиО им. Маяковского. Фото: А. Марушин

ЦПКиО имени В. В. Маяковского – самый посещаемый и самый обширный из городских парков Екатеринбурга. Он занимает площадь около 100 га, и с 1980-х годов является традиционным местом проведения общегородских праздников и массовых народных гуляний. На территории парка предоставляется множество услуг для организации досуга, развлечений и активного отдыха, а также располагаются более 50 аттракционов.

 Празднование Масленицы в ЦПКиО им. Маяковского. Фото: Е. Лялина

Еще в XIX веке на месте современного парка располагались купеческие дачи, а рядом находилась Мещанская роща, в которой нередко проводились различные народные гуляния. Летом 1934 года на этой территории открылся Свердловский парк культуры и отдыха. В этом же году, в связи с сорокалетием поэта, парк получил имя В. В. Маяковского. Первоначально парк имени Маяковского был просто лесопарковой зоной: здесь можно было погулять, отдохнуть на природе, зимой – покататься на лыжах. Из достопримечательностей имелись только небольшой пруд, танцверанда с летней эстрадой и три аттракциона. В 1936 году на территории парка появились кинотеатр и летний цирк.

  

Центральная аллея в ЦПКиО им. Маяковского. Фото: В. Коньшин 

После 1950 года в ЦПКиО произошли значительные изменения: центральная аллея переместилась влево, были построены арка центрального входа и здание дирекции. В парке установили скульптуру Владимира Маяковского, вновь отстроили кинотеатр, закрытый в годы войны, запустили детскую железную дорогу. Позднее у центрального входа открылся планетарий (сейчас он уже не функционирует). Центральный парк культуры и отдыха имени Маяковского стал одним из ведущих парков России.

 Традиционный Сабантуй в ЦПКиО им. Маяковского. Фото: Т. Насибуллин

В начале XXI век парк приобрел новые достопримечательности и стал местом проведения международных культурных мероприятий. Летом 2006 года здесь под открытым небом впервые прошел международный фестиваль садово-парковой скульптуры. Работы тринадцати победителей украсили Центральную аллею парка. В этом же году открылся первый цветомузыкальный фонтан «Созвездие», аналогов которому нет на Урале. Для любителей природы был создан контактный зоопарк. Зимой на территории парка функционирует ледяной каток и горки, а в лесном массиве проложены лыжные тропы.

 Дни Европы в Екатеринбурге. Фото: А. Храновская

В 2013 году парк стал одной из основных площадок популярного международного фестиваля «Дни Европы». Кроме того, здесь проходят гастрольные выступления звезд эстрады и традиционные городские праздники. Ежегодно ЦПКиО имени В. В. Маяковского посещают более 2,5 миллионов екатеринбуржцев и гостей уральской столицы.

 Открытие Памятника Футболу у входа в ЦПКиО им. Маяковского. Фото: Е. Чагаева

В 2014 году именно ЦПКиО стал местом проведения Международного фестиваля болельщиков FIFA™ во время Чемпионата мира по футболу в Бразилии. Посетителей ждали не только прямые трансляции футбольных матчей, но и насыщенная развлекательная программа, в которой приняли участие 13 профессиональных ведущих, 30 вокальных и инструментальных коллективов, 7 танцевальных коллективов,  более 80 артистов оригинального жанра, 15 стенд-ап комиков, 6 команд КВН, более 155 спортсменов, а также модели, диджеи, художники и другие артисты. Кроме того, на площадке фестиваля проходил любительский футбольный турнир с участием 68 команд, было проведено 196 матчей.
За месяц работы Международного фестиваля болельщиков FIFA™ в Екатеринбурге в 2014 году было показано 15 матчей, мероприятия фан-зоны посетили 25 000 человек.

  

Международный фестиваль болельщиков FIFA™ в Екатеринбурге. Фото: Т. Насибуллин