About World Cup
About World Cup

Key facts about the World Cup


What is the FIFA™ World Cup?

FIFA™ World Cup is the most large-scale sporting event and prestigious football world championship in the world, each time collecting several million fans. The Championships involve male national teams of the Member States of the International Football Federation (FIFA). The final matches are held every 4 years.


Who conducts the Championship?


Championship organizes the International Football Federation (FIFA) - the governing body of the world football. It was founded in 1904 in Paris. FIFA integrates of 6 regional associations, headquartered in Zurich.


History of the Championship


Official finals of the World Cup were held since 1930. At the current moment 20 tournaments have been organized in total. 21th FIFA™ World Cup will be held in Russia in 2018, and 22th will take place in Qatar in 2022.

In the history of the tournament only 8 countries were the winners: Brazil - 5 times; Italy and Germany - 4 times; Argentina and Uruguay - 2 times; Britain, France and Spain - 1 time. The current world football champion is the German team.

Since 1974, the main prize of the tournament is a unique trophy - the winners’ Cup of the World Cup FIFA™. The Cup is a composition of two human figures supporting the globe; the bottom of a trophy shows engraved names of all the countries whose teams won the championship. The trophy is made of 18 carat gold and weighs more than 6 kg.

Since 1966, each of the Championship has its mascot. The first mascot in the history of the World Cup was Willie the lion.


Russia and Championship


Russia is a full member of FIFA since 1992. In 2018 for the first time in its history, Russia will be the host country of the FIFA™ World Cup.

The teams form more than two hundred countries will play in the qualifying tournament of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™. The Russian team as a host is exempted from qualifying games.

The final part of the Championship will be held in Russia from June 14 to July 15, 2018. 32 national teams will be among the participants. 64 games will be played in total: 48 matches on the group stage and 16 - on the playoffs stage. The opening match and the final one will take place at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.


The host city of the FIFA World Cup Russia™.


There will be 11 sports capitals of the FIFA World Cup Russia™:

    • Volgograd
    • Ekaterinburg
    • Kazan
    • Kaliningrad
    • Moscow
    • Nizhny Novgorod
    • Rostov-on-Don
    • Samara
    • St. Petersburg
    • Saransk
    • Sochi

Про Чемпионат
Про Чемпионат

Основные факты о Чемпионате мира по футболу


Что такое Чемпионат мира по футболу FIFA™?

Чемпионат мира по футболу FIFA™ – самое масштабное спортивное мероприятие в мире и престижнейшее футбольное первенство планеты, каждый раз собирающее несколько миллионов болельщиков. В Чемпионате участвуют мужские национальные сборные стран-членов Международной федерации футбола (FIFA). Финальные турниры Чемпионата проходят раз в 4 года. 


Кто проводит Чемпионат?


Чемпионат проводит Международная федерация футбола (FIFA) – управляющий орган мирового футбола. Основана в 1904 году в Париже. В состав FIFA входят 6 региональных конфедераций; штаб-квартира расположена в Цюрихе.


История Чемпионата


Официальные финалы Чемпионата мира по футболу проходят с 1930 года. Всего на сегодняшний день состоялось 20 турниров. 21-й Чемпионат мира по футболу FIFA™ пройдет в 2018 году в России, а 22-й – в 2022 году в Катаре.

За всю историю турнира победителями становились только 8 стран: Бразилия – 5 раз; Италия и Германия – по 4 раза; Аргентина и Уругвай – по 2 раза; Англия, Франция и Испания – по 1 разу. Действующий Чемпион мира по футболу – сборная Германии.

С 1974 года главной наградой турнира служит уникальный трофей – Кубок победителей Чемпионата мира по футболу FIFA. Кубок представляет собой композицию из двух человеческих фигур, поддерживающих земной шар; в нижней части трофея выгравированы названия всех стран, чьи сборные побеждали в Чемпионате. Трофей изготовлен из 18-каратного золота и весит более 6 кг.

С 1966 года у каждого Чемпионата есть свой талисман. Первым в истории талисманом Чемпионата мира по футболу стал львенок Вилли.


Россия и Чемпионат


Россия является полноправным участником FIFA с 1992 года. В 2018 году впервые в своей истории Россия станет страной-хозяйкой Чемпионата мира по футболу FIFA™.

В отборочном турнире Чемпионата мира по футболу FIFA 2018™ играют команды более двухсот стран. Российская сборная на правах хозяина освобождена от участия в квалификации.

Финальная часть Чемпионата пройдет в России с 14 июня по 15 июля 2018 года. Ее участниками станут 32 национальные сборные. В общей сложности состоится 64 матча: 48 на групповом этапе и 16 – на стадии плей-офф. Матч открытия и Финал состоятся на стадионе «Лужники» в Москве.


Города-организаторы Чемпионата мира по футболу FIFA 2018 в России™


В 2018 году Чемпионат примут 11 спортивных столиц страны:

    • Волгоград
    • Екатеринбург
    • Казань
    • Калининград
    • Москва
    • Нижний Новгород
    • Ростов-на-Дону
    • Самара
    • Санкт-Петербург
    • Саранск
    • Сочи

Дополнительная информация о Чемпионате
Официальный сайт Международной федерации футбола (FIFA)

Туристический портал Чемпионата мира по футболу в России FIFA 2018 в России™